AGM minutes 2004

Minutes of Telepost Chess Club Annual General Meeting
Held at Telepost Club on Tuesday 7th Sept 2004 

Present:- Keith Tabner (Secretary), John Liddell (Treaurer), Richard Bryant, John Westhead, John Bashall, Peter Crean, Bob Simpson, David Adderley, Steve Jones, Neil Allen
Review of Last Season 
A Team – Finished runners-up in both league and cup thus ending a run of four consecutive championships.
B Team – Fought well in top flight and were unlucky to be just relegated.
C Team – Starting as rank outsiders produced a tremendous season to win the Div 2 championship. Individual Trophies were presented to Steve Jones (captain), David Adderley, John Liddell, Jonathon Harvey, and John Westhead.
D Team – Enjoyed a solid performance in the league and a good cup run.
Nigel Ferrington won his third county individual championship with an impressive 6 / 7.
Richard Bryant qualified for the British Championships in Scarborough. 
John Westhead captained the county U125 team to win the national title.This followed his impressive performance in the Wrekin Congress.
Steve Jones worked tirelessly as captain to earn the C team the Div 2 title.
John Casewell successfully combined the roles of League Controller, Darwin Organiser, and D Team captain.
Jonathon Harvey earned his first grade – an impressive 146.
2004-05 Teams 
After much debate the meeting recognised the importance of maintaining four teams and competing in all divisions of the Shropshire league. This despite losing some members last year. By taking advantage of league rules re players playing up (below 110 may play Div 2 and 1, below 90 may play Div 3 and 2) this is just feasible but new members are needed. The secretary’s proposed team structure was accepted. (see list of members / teams)
Officers / Captains 
Secretary – Keith Tabner
Treasurer – John Liddell
A Team Captain – Neil Allen, (Vice Captain Richard Bryant)
B Team Captain – John Liddell, (Vice Captain Bob Simpson)
C Team Captain – Steve Jones
D Team Captain – John Casewell
Club Championship Organiser – John Liddell
Treasurer’s Report 
Chess Membership Fee – £10-00pa for all members – to be collected by team captains in October. (All members must of course also join Telepost Club – currently £15-00 pa). League fees are to increase from £39 last year to £45 payable in November. 
Darwin Festival 
18/09/04 Players wanted for West v East Shropshire match.25/09/04 U125 team to feature in match of the Generations. 
Summer 2005 Tournament.
Proposal to combine club championship with Shrewsbury Club – to find Shrewsbury Town Champion – was accepted. Details to be announced later by organiser John Liddell if also accepted by Shrewsbury. 
New Members 
All avenues must be explored to encourage new members, especially juniors, into the club. 
Keith Tabner

Scroll to Top