AGM minutes 2013

Minutes of Telepost Chess Club Annual General Meeting 

Held at Telepost Club on Thursday 29th August 2013 Present 

Keith Tabner (Secretary), John Westhead (Treasurer), Peter Crean, , Shane Sweeney, Charles Micallef, Vinny Crean. Dean Pinnington, Richard Bryant, Matthew Clark, John Bashall, Ian Duncan. 
Apologies:- Nigel Ferrington, John Casewell. 
Review of Last Year 

2012-13 has been one of mixed fortunes. 
Telepost A were runners up behind Newport for both league title and Cox trophy. 
Telepost B were just relegated from the top flight. 
Telepost C finished safely in Div 2 mid-table. 
Telepost D again gave valuable experience to to our up and coming players. 
However our rapidplay team retained the team rapidplay trophy after a hard fought tournament. 

ECF Direct Membership 

As last season – JW explained the options open to members to meet the new ECF funding requirements. 
Occasional league players (max 3 games per season) must pay game fee £2-00 per game. 
For league team players:- 
Renew membership via website and advise KT of membership number. 

Treasurer’s Report 

John Westhead presented accounts for 2012-13. 
As is so often the case, a successful year with significant costs in trophies is followed by a less successful one. Income has exceeded expenditure this year with club funds now at £150. 
Chess club fees for 2012-13 will remain at £5-00 per member payable to JW, to cover and running costs. 
All players must of course join Telepost Club (currently £20-00 pa payable each April). 

Proposed New Rapidplay League 

Agreed that we should enter two teams. 

2013-14 Teams 

The A team is weakened this season – David Bates is unavailable and both Richard Bryant and Phil Zabrocki will miss several matches. 
Thus several players will move up leaving a gap in the C team. 
We have agreed to co-operate with the new Condover-Church Stretton Club to enable us to still field four league teams. Francis and occasionally Steve Rooney will double up and play for Telepost C and three of our players, Charles, Shane, and John Casewell, will double up and also play for them. 
We are pleased to welcome several new members who will gain experience in the D team. 

We will again field four teams in the Shropshire chess league – A in Div 1, B and C in Div 2, and D team in Div 3. KT to update members list with details. Officers / Captains 

Secretary – Keith Tabner 
Treasurer – John Westhead 
A Team Captain – Richard Bryant, (Vice Capt Matthew Clark) 
B Team Captain – Peter Crean, 
C Team Captain –John Casewell 
D Team Captain – Dean Pinnington 

Club Championship 

It was agreed that this event should continue in it’s present format – a five round Swiss held during the winter season to be organised by KT. Fees to continue at £2-00 per entry.
Congratulations to Club Champion Richard Bryant and U140 champion Kate Walker. 

Shrewsbury Town Championship 

Agreed that it should continue as at present – KT to organise a five round Swiss during summer months. With one round to go Nigel Ferrington has just become the first player to retain the Shrewsbury Town Championship title. 

Dates for the Diary 

3rd Sept NF Simul at Condover 
9th Sept League season begins Any Other Business 

Equipment – Agreed it would be desirable when funds are available to have 5 digital clocks. 

Sponsorship – ID to see if his employer Lanyon Bowdler would be prepared to contribute towards new equipment. 

Keith Tabner Secretary

Scroll to Top